how will these sleep habits affect my gains?

AndreAnabolic

AndreAnabolic

Awards
hey everyone, my diet is good, routine is in check, im just a little curious about how i sleep is affecting my gains.

im a personal trainer at a local club, and i get off at 8 every night, i workout at around 8:30-9:00 and afterwards i work a 4 hour shift from 10-2 at a gas station. i get to bed at around 2:30-3:00 after my prebed meal and i wake up at around 12:00. will these hours of sleep seriously affect my gains? and is it bad to eat breakfast at noon?

suncloud

suncloud

Awards
  • Established
why would it? for you that's morning. 3-12 is a good amount of sleep time. i think most graveshifters would be envious of that much sleep.

Aggravated

Aggravated

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
why would it? for you that's morning. 3-12 is a good amount of sleep time. i think most graveshifters would be envious of that much sleep.
The guys that work 3rd shift at my company would kill people for that amount of sleep! Be aware that the more you sleep, the more time you are burning muscle. I shoot for 7-8, but 9 might not be as bad as 11 or 12. The more time I have to squeeze in snacks/meals, the better!

AndreAnabolic

AndreAnabolic

Awards
i find that if i go to bed at 12 and wake up at 8 my energy levels are way higher throughout the day? any comments on that?

soseg

soseg

Awards
  • Established
hm thats an interesting one i gotta agree with you there
im on hoildays now and go to bed at 2 and wake up roughly 1030am or 11am and feel less active than when I was going to uni at 8am with my barely 8-8.5 hours of sleep

it's got to do something with the natural body clock in my opinion... just the way your body responds to being awake at night versus day, sleeping during the day...

definitely an interesting question I'd want to know the answer too

when you're sleeping till noon... how dark is your room? maybe that could be affecting the quality of sleep?

jfk

Awards