38 6'5 330 going for 715 raw bench

1. New Member
    Stats
    6'5"  290 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    56.57%

38 6'5 330 going for 715 raw bench

Ok, so heres the problem I've been powerifting for many years and have taken numerous cycles. I am closing in on the World Record Raw Bench. With all of the added muscle comes added weight, with added weight comes high BP. My doc just put me on BP meds because of my weight. I am not fat, 38 inch waist and 62 in chest, but the doc says weight is weight. To hit 715 I'll probably have to gain some more weight, and take more more BP meds. So do i go for it and keep BP conrolled with meds...is that safe. Or, do I cut and become a normal person? How do all the other super heavyweight body buliders and powerlifters do it and stay healthy? Are all those guys unhealthy? What would you guys do?

2. Banned
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    93.9%

Is lifting a recreation or sport? Are you competing or just trying to beat a record? I understand the appeal of more size, but at what cost? BP Meds are treating a symptom, not the underlying problem and with any meds legal or otherwise there are side effects and risks and increasing doses of statins elevates risk. How far are you willing to go and what price are you willing to pay? As my trainers often remind me, don't chase a number, focus your goals on being fit and healthy first.
  3. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'10"  232 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    11.68%

Rommel,

Try some natural supplements to bring down that BP. Taurine reduces it quite a bit, but a tolerance needs to be built s-l-o-w-l-y as it will give you the hershey squirts if too much, too quickly. Beet juice also has natural nitrates that reduce BP. Yorked by USP Labs has Arginine Nitrate in it which is an excellent BP reducer, and GPLC powder works well too, especially if some citrulline malate is added . All of these are better than the drugs.