Hernia

Jack of Shadows

Awards
Well, more than 30 years after starting lifting, I have apparently develop a hernia. No terrible pain or significant protrusion of anything through the abdominal wall or into the inguinal canal - but a periodic burning at a specific spot in the inguinal area on the right side, really not occurring more than once per week.

PCP says that, if I were someone who was sedentary (or he could trust to slow down and lighten up ;<)) he might suggest watchful waiting. But knowing otherwise, he has consulted me to a surgeon for his opinion on whether to go ahead and fix it now. Just what I needed within a few weeks after turning 55

Anyway - Looking for any other insight into the whole process, from surgery, to recovery, to any ongoing issues in the longer term.

Thanks!

bigmoe65

bigmoe65

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Are you sure its a hernia and not a groin pull? Reason why I ask is "usually " theres a protusion. I'm not a doctor though. I had a left inguinal hernia fix about 3 years ago, funny thing is I dont even know how I got it. I had the standard procedure done using the mesh. Surgery was easy but recovery was brutal. Dont let that scare you though, my friend had it done and he was walking around perfectly the next day. I couldn't move for a week. The doctor did a great job fixing me but I still have pain sometimes in the region which I just think is the scare tissue. Whenever I do leg machines that cause a lot of abdominal pressure I keep a fist pressed down over that area. I guess it just makes me feel better, dont want to tear it again.

Jack of Shadows

Awards