Homebrewing M5aa & M1,4add powders

shyboy

Awards
Ok, I'm new to homebrewing but just want to put in my experience mixing Custom's M5 & M14 powders with D.S's Peg 400 & olive oil. Take it for what it's worth. Maybe it will help:

M5aa:(10mg/ml) I put the peg 400 (99ml) in a gerber baby food jar (glass) & heated in the microwave for 2 minutes or so. Got EXtremely hot, so use a towel or something to handle. I put in 1 gram of M5aa in the peg & stirred. Went in no problem. No clumps, nothing. Crystal clear this morning too. So I got 10mg/ml in a crystal clear solution. I have another gram but didnt want to push it until I saw how this did once cooled. (plus I saved an extra bottle of Peg back just in case I needed it) I might try heating it tonight & adding another gram but I think that might be too much.
M1,4add:(20mg/ml) Same size small baby food jar. Used extra virgin olive oil, 100ml (actually more like 102-3 since I expected some to stick to the jar) and heated the same way. Put in 2 grams of Custom's M1,4add powder and stirred. Took a little bit longer but went into solution pretty good. Kinda hazy, but might be from the oil, but no clumps or anything. No settling in bottom this a.m. either.
Overall it took me maybe 15 minutes total to do both of these. Note: I never nuked the powders, only the liquids then added the powders when hot. Make sure you dont have clumps to start out with but instead a fine powder.

Am I missing something with everyone having so much trouble mixing powders??? Seemed pretty easy. What am I missing??

P.S -Peg does taste like ****. Chase it with something.

cookmic5

Awards
  • Established
I haven't seen many people having problems with this. Actually I've only seen people being quite pleased that they could go as high as 30mg/ml of Peg for the M14add.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong here, but I didn't think you really had to heat the Peg/Olive oil before making the solution?

Be sure not to feed the solutions to the baby. ;)

cm5