VolcomX311

VolcomX311

Legend
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
Glaube Feitosa
Tuesday 27th of April 2010 10:00 AM By Erik Engelhart
One of the great Brazilian names at K-1 and Karate, Glaube Feitosa is focused on the training on the UDL, especially on the preparation of Maurício Shogun for his fight against Lyoto Machida on UFC 113. In an interview with TATAME, Glaube commented the trainings, talked about the expectations for the fight and revealed the he’s not likely to go back to the rings. “I don’t have a deadline to go back to fighting, maybe I never come back… If I retire, I’ll be satisfied”, said the fighter, on the exclusive chat which you can check below.

How are Shogun’s trainings on UDL?

Very good, we’ve been practicing a little and it’s been a good partnership. I’m new in Curitiba and Shogun has opened his gym’s doors for me. I got here in Curitiba with my family in January and I’m adapting pretty well to the city.

What is the focus of the trainings you’ve been given?

I try to help on the left-handed part, do some mix, since my part is standing. My business is not ground or MMA, my specialty is standing up. I started training in UDL for friendship I have with Shogun, but not exclusively training with him. I train with the entire team, but when they get together I try to simulate Lyoto game, exchange bases and both sides win.

Do you think Lyoto with set a strategy of low kicks, which injured him so much on the first fight?

For sure, he hasn’t gotten to the belt out of the blue. It’s not by chance he’s the champion, he and his crew are very clever and will try to neutralize this low kicks game, preparing something for the upper part. I think they’ll settle a strategy of counterattacks on the punches upon the Shogun’s low kicks.

And how does Shogun should react to these possible counterattacks?