Best powerlifting routine?

jramoska

jramoska

Banned
Awards
So I've been training for a couple of years now. I've almost always done a bodybuilding type workouts. These are the workouts where it's like four sets of 8 to 12 with this heavy as big as possible. Around 290b 380d and idk squat cuz of injuries prob around 300/300. What would be a good routine to get into powerlifting? Not sure if those numbers are beginner or intermediate.
Stats:
19 y/o around 204lbs prob like 13-15 body fat and was a competitive swimmer for 12 years. Which is why my numbers aren't good.
Need any other info lemme know all advice is welcome :)

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I don't think there is a one best routine. I do feel if one is not used to doing low or really low reps, or hasn't had much experience, which are in about all PL routines, (in order to get the body used to heavier and heavier loads) along with training the nervous system and strengthening not only the muscles, but the tendons and ligaments, then the more simple the routine is the better, so the trainee can focus on perfecting the forms (especially in the squat and deadlift) with the additional heavy weight being used. The better one can control and stay tight using these exercises, the safer and better one is in the long run.
Simple pyramid programs getting the lifter more adapted to move towards regular heavy work/singles and or even Wendler's 531 might be a decent start. Just more or less concentrating on the 3 big lifts, and then using some extra exercises for say shoulders, back, legs, and arms.
The less complicated at the start, the more one can concentrate on a few basic lifts, form on those lifts, progression and loads.

NurseGray

NurseGray

Awards