My "Attempt at Westside" Log

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Hi all,
This log will serve to track my progress and also to learn from others with more experience in this style of training.
I've been training religiously for almost ten years now, the first nine years of which were spent bodybuilding/Greco-Roman wrestling training (leaning toward bodybuilding). This year, I realized that I preferred the tangible goals of powerlifting to the more abstract ones of bodybuilding. I also enjoy moving (relatively) large weights. Most of this year I have based my program on compound movements for low reps, and after doing a lot of reading and lurking, I have decided to attempt Westside training. I have read and reread as many of Louie's articles as I can get my hands on, as I have done with technique videos on youtube. I feel my understanding of body positioning from wrestling in high school and college, along with my training experience, will allow me to do this, but I'd like your help with any comments noted in my programming.
Enough talk, here are my current maxes (all within the past month):
Squat 455
Bench 350 raw, 385 in the cheapo Inzer Blast shirt
Deadlift 465 Conventional (I am working toward sumo, being 5'8" and 220 with a 73" reach, but am currently too weak in the hams)

Thanks for viewing, I hope you enjoy.

herderdude

herderdude

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
12/26 ME Upper
Bench
45x5
135x5
185x5
225x5
275x5
295x1 put on shirt
295x1
315x1
335x1
365x1 (probably the most difficult rep of my life)

DB Shoulder Press (already toasted)
70x15
70x12
70x12

Tate Press
30x12x4 (WeightxRepsxSets)

Pullups
BWx10x3

Pendlay Rows with hold at top, replicating bench grip
135x12x4

Ab Wheel (kneeling)
12x4