Help with bench press.

1. New Member
    Stats
    6'4"  100 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    14.51%

Help with bench press.

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to these threads but have been reading for quiet a while. I'm 31years old. 6ft4. 225lb at about 14% bf. I've been lifting seriously for 2 years had never trained before that. My problem is with my bench I just can't get over 200lb for reps. I want to be able to bench 220 comfortably. I work out my full body I include squats and deads once a week but not heavy due to a bad back. Any help much appreciated.

2. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'8"  184 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    68.69%

Quote Originally Posted by Eamonevomurf View Post
    Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to these threads but have been reading for quiet a while. I'm 31years old. 6ft4. 225lb at about 14% bf. I've been lifting seriously for 2 years had never trained before that. My problem is with my bench I just can't get over 200lb for reps. I want to be able to bench 220 comfortably. I work out my full body I include squats and deads once a week but not heavy due to a bad back. Any help much appreciated.
    Weighted dips. If you can not do weighted, do bodyweight until you can do like 3 sets of 12, then add 10lbs (I use adumbbell that I pick up with my feet, there are also belts you can add weight with). I like the 8 rep range, as soon as I can hit 8 reps on all my sets, I add 5 lbs. Also, training the lats on the same plane as the bench (meaning heavy rows) helps the bench a lot for most people. If you can not do freeweight barbell rows because of your back, one arm dumb bell rows or even hammer strength rows can be used as a replacement. Finally, standing shoulder press has a lot of carry over to the bench, and is a movment I think everyone who lifts should do anyhow because of the impact it has on real world strength.