Switching gears

ktw

Awards
  • Established
Anabolic Diet Recomp/Slow Bulk.

First off a little about me. I've been training fairly consistently for about 4 years. Used to post on here back in the day. In those 4 years I went from a 170lb grappler to a 245lb powerlifter. I have had quite a few setbacks:

May-August 2006. Had a rigorous internship on Capitol Hill and did not get to work out very much. Got a bad cold and ended the summer at 192, down from 208.

May-August 2007. Spent a summer abroad in Africa. I didn't get to lift or eat. Went from 215 to 190

January 2008. Got the flu and lost 20 lbs. 215 down to 195.

During this time period I used a 4 day a week upper/lower split that was sort of like WSB training. Trained with a powerlifting team in Phoenix and started getting into using double ply gear. Did lots of squatting in briefs during this time. Almost every workout.

Last summer I decided to change things and began training by myself with the online assistance of Mike Tuchscherer. This is when I started suffering injuries. I had some knee problems and in early August about a month out from a meet I pulled my inner rhomboid.

Around this time I decided to get away from powerlifting. My blood pressure was 150/90 ish, I was eating nonstop, I was bloated and didn't feel good.

In September I used the 5/3/1 for 8 weeks and hated it. After that I did a Poliquin program I can detail if people want, then DC.

Since then I have gone from 245 to 220 while dropping about 9% bodyfat. I have also started cycling a bit and I go rock climbing twice a week. My goal is to have good vitals, stay strong in the gym and get better at cycling and climbing. My resting heart rate went from 80bpm to between 55-60 on average. My blood pressure is usually 120/70-80.

PR's
Bench- 330
OLY squat- 365x6, Haven't taken a 1rm in a while. Hit 515x3 in briefs and I have squatted around that with straps down in a suit. I squat with just a belt now
Deadlift- 475x3