Tweaking my Diet - Having some questions...

BigVrunga

BigVrunga

Awards
  • Established
Ive been gaining mass for about two years now. I though about cutting, but Ive decided to go for another 20lbs (crowd goes wild!). Im more strict on my diet than Ive ever been, but I have a few questions to help tweak it for maximum lean gains.

Some background:

Im 225, about 12ish% bodyfat. I know that in order to get to my goal weight of 245, and maintain a decent appearance:), Ive got to minimize the chunk. The amount of calories Im going to have to take in will be in the neighboorhood of 4300 - 5000 per day on the 35/45/20 plan. At that rate, Im going to have to really specific about what Im eating and when Im eating it to achieve my goals, so without further ado:

1.)Most of my carbs come from Low GI sources like brown rice and oatmeal. The only sugar Im getting is from my NLarge2 shakes. I usually drink 1.5 servings (6 scoops) a day with 3 cups milk. (one after breakfast and two while Im at work). Is there a better gainer than NLarge in terms of complex carbs? Any good homemade recipes? I tried mixing ON Whey with powdered oatmeal, gave me stomach cramps. I dont mind drinking sludge, though.

2.)NLarge2 has 100mg of cholesterol per serving. So, just from the gainer Im getting 150mg a day, 50% of what I should be taking in(according to the FDA). Is this the 'bad/LDL' cholestrol or the 'good/HDL' cholesterol?

3.)Is the timing of the food Im getting in important. I know all about the window after training - but say my goal for carbs is 450g, and its 1am, and Ive only got 400g in so far. Is eating a bowl of oatmeal and 2 servings of mixed veggies along with my protien (usually canned tuna) right before bed a bad idea? Will the low GI carbs cause increased insulin?

4.)Speaking of insulin - Ive read that the body cannot produce HGH and insulin at the same time. Is this true?