Best method to determine daily caloric needs?

tmilam

Awards
I have been tinkering around with my diet for a few months now varying my caloric intake, macronutrient proportions and have hit a plateau of no longer being able to lose bodyfat. I would like to find the best methods for determining my daily caloric needs. The answers from "calorie calculators" that I've visited while online have given me a wide range of numbers. So, I thought I would come here where the wisdom is at AM.

Nightwanderer

Nightwanderer

Awards
  • Established
you may wand to look in to hydrostatic weight testing, to get the most accurate bodyfat measurement if you haven't already. I'm not sure what the most accurate way to measure caloric needs are, but with the hydrostatic weight testing you'll have a more accurate estimate vs. calipers or scales.

Boyders

Boyders

Awards
  • Established
I was thinking about wearing my gf's heart rate monitor for 24 hours and reading my calorie loss. Are those accurate enough to do that?

rick055

Awards
  • Established
I have asked basically the same question as I am in the same spot (and those last 10 are TOUGH), and I was told to journal you calories and find what's right for you.

Start with a good idea of your bodyweight/bf% and determine your BMR & exercise.

Pick what should be a defecit of at least 500 kcal/day and evaluate in a couple weeks.

Every formula I found for BMR was different, every energy expenditure for exercise was different, and nothing helped. Even if you go to the trouble of an exact hydrostatic bf calcultion, it's still only giving you an approximate BMR. Your thyroid is your thyroid, you perform exercise the way you perform exercise, etc... Way too many variables to know, "from the jump" where to exactly start. That's why you approximate.