Need some help starting out.

1. New Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    36.67%

Question Need some help starting out.

Heya there.

Currently, I'm 16 (Nearly 17). 5'9, 186 lbs.

Trying to find some help to drop this weight.

Previously, I was 5'9, 145lbs. I decided that I was too heavy, and ate about 500 calories a day, dropping to 130lbs.. (Genius move, I know..)

Within two months, I shot up to 186 , and I just can't seem to shake it.

My diet is pretty much horrible, as is my excercise. I am looking to change that.

I am joining a gym in the coming weeks, interested in losing the weight, but also becoming more "mirror friendly".

I am a complete noob to this subject, so any advice that you'd be willing to offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. Board Supporter
    Stats
    6'0"  195 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    59.42%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

Just do it.
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    5'11"  187 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    38.37%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

Well...you wonder why you're in a bad state and yet you admit that both your diet and workout routine is horrible (I'm even going to guess real exercise is an alien concept for you lately).

Diet wise...frankly an active 16-18 year old should have no problem keeping in shape if they exercise regularly but if you can try to keep the foods you eat clean, like chicken, tuna, eggs, pasta, rice, bread, oats, etc.

You want a solid workout routine and you'll want to do some form of cardio aswell, taking up a sport if you haven't already would be a good move I think...it'll get you in the right mentality of being fit to do what you love.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    7.63%

Hey bud. I was like you at one point... You'll hear a lot of complicated **** for a beginner, like macronutrient ratios, training splits, etc, but ignore all that **** just for now and keep it simple.