questions concerning fat loss for females

BIGGUNZ401

BIGGUNZ401

Awards
  • Established
Okay heres the story I have a friend that is gonna get married in a year and wants to lose weight. She weighs about 180lbs and I wanna try to get her in better shape.

Is a 1500-1700/daily calorie diet good or should I start higher her w/ higher calories and cut down?

Is 1500-1700 calories daily healthy?

She is also going to be doing weight training and cardio also.

Also will be taking fish oil and a fat burner

I have been training for 2 years and I have a good amount of knowledge for losing fat, Im a bit confused..is it the same for females??thanks in advance.

Rage (SoCal)

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
It is definetely the same for females. For whatever reason, woman have set prejudgements on getting into shape and how to lose fat.

Theres many variables involved so judging from the limited information you gave us. Start her off at maintenance and then go from there. You don't want to shock her metabolism and drop her cals to low as it may prove to be counter-productive. Not to mention it may be discouraging for her. She has a year which is more than enough time to reach a realistic goal.

Right off the back, 1500 cals is NOT healthy for a 180lb woman.

Sit down and see what her diet is like. You have to know 100% of what she's eating to tackle this problem effeciently.

Ziricote

Ziricote

Awards
  • Established
Is a 1500-1700/daily calorie diet good or should I start higher her w/ higher calories and cut down?
Uh, why would you want to start her higher? Just find her maintanence calorie intake and minus 500-750kcal imo.

Rage (SoCal)

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
There's not much more that you need to know. Do some more researching and reading on fatloss. It all applies to homo-sapiens.

Achilles13

:::6'4 240lbs EndoMorph:::
Awards
  • Established
Give some of her stats for starters. Age, Heights, years of training etc...

FitnFirm

Banned
Awards