After workout shake...

jverch

Board Supporter
Awards
okay...I've been using Optimum Nutrition After Max for 3 years now for my postworkout shake and it's worked fine, but I'm looking for a cheaper alternative...anybody have suggestions? It has 40g protein/40g carbs and tastes pretty darn good considering all the crap I've tried in the past five years.

shootmeagain

Awards
  • Established
Trying to get cheaper than Optimum?

Hmm...

Well, you could buy bulk protein (from board sponsor All The Whey for instance) and bulk maltodextrin or dextrose.

Or something such as that.

??

CarryOnTheChaos

Awards
  • Established
25lbs from the AllTheWhey is like 79.95 if my memory serves me correctly...MUCH CHEAPER then optimum.

or if you know guys that work at GNC tell them to hook you up with some nitro-tech cause that **** is sweeter than a milkshake...however, if paying full-price is WAY over-rated, lol.

regards,
COTC

jverch

Board Supporter
Awards
yeah...I was just checking out the SuperMass 600...it's a bit cheaper than Optimum.

Nitrotech? :icon_lol: ...isn't that just asking to get spammed? heh j/k

Guess my objective is two-fold...cheaper and a little higher carb/protein ratio...60/40 (carb/protein)...for instance.

Kristopher

Kristopher

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
add a handfull of oats to the shake and blend.. problem solved

BIGPHILL1984

Awards
  • Established
or get some cheap whey and mix with ff milk. I do! 440 cals, 64 grams of protein, 40 grams of carbs

shootmeagain

Awards
  • Established
It depends on your situation and goals. If you are looking to reduce bodyfat you're going to want to stay away from dextrose and milk (lactose; milk sugar) in your shakes... though, it can be argued, rightly so, that post-workout could be the only time for such things in a diet.