Tuna in a can, Good or bad ?

Jim Mills

Jim Mills

Awards
  • Established
I've been eating a can of Tuna just about every day for the past 2 months.... This is just part of my protein intake. Someone told me yesterday about the mercury in fish and said it may not be a good idea to eat so much tuna.... I've heard about the mercury, but I'm wondering if it will effect my health if I keep eating it every day.

Spitdeath

Awards
I've been eating a can of Tuna just about every day for the past 2 months.... This is just part of my protein intake. Someone told me yesterday about the mercury in fish and said it may not be a good idea to eat so much tuna.... I've heard about the mercury, but I'm wondering if it will effect my health if I keep eating it every day.
I dunno but the white albacore tuna has like twice as much mercury as the regular stuff.

bda55

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
I certainly hope not, as I've been eating tuna out of a can daily for the past 2 years.. :blink:

Jim Mills

Jim Mills

Awards
  • Established
I dunno but the white albacore tuna has like twice as much mercury as the regular stuff.
albacore? Guess I will have to buy a different brand.... That's the one I've been eating. :sick:

intv

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
1 can a day is more than I'd be comfortable with eating. FWIW, I think it was Dr. D that suggested eating calcium in the form of antacids with tuna. Have you guys tried canned salmon or the little herring fish steaks? The fish steaks are pretty good, but, damn they'll clear out a room!

Sgt. Ownage

Board Supporter
Awards
1/2 the price and less mercury...win win

CarryOnTheChaos

Awards
  • Established
hopefully its not too bad as I used to eat 3-5 cans daily during work when I was cutting and had nothing else to bring to work to eat...:-/

regards,
COTC

PS: Try canned chicken breast...tastes almost the same...just make sure you get the low sodium one. I seem to like it a lot and it is a change from tuna.