allergic to whey and dairy! - AnabolicMinds.com

allergic to whey and dairy!

  1. Banned
    ketchup head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Age
    41
    Posts
    44
    Rep Power
    0

    Reputation

    allergic to whey and dairy!


    Whats my best alternative for protein supplements? I take GNC soy protien 95 and cliff energy bars (only has 10 g. of protien, but is the only one I can find without whey or dairy)

    Thanks

  2. I know nothing...
    DmitryWI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,532
    Rep Power
    1410

    Reputation

    Whey isolate, calcium caseniate, egg protein. Soy protein is not very good for ya. Also you can try lactase enzymes to help digest dairy.
  3. Registered User
    milwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,460
    Rep Power
    1404

    Reputation

    I know your pain, although I seem to have outgrown my allergies. Bottom line---get egg protein. Get a few different custom egg mixes/flavors. Its the next best thing. You won't find better.
    •   
       

  4. Senior Member
    exnihilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,577
    Rep Power
    923

    Reputation

    Lean chicken and fish.
  5. Registered User
    jrkarp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Age
    35
    Posts
    950
    Rep Power
    601

    Reputation

    The estrogenic effects of soy protein are exaggerated. I wouldn't rely on it for the majority of my protein intake, but do I get 20-30g of it a day. It's good to have as broad a spectrum of protein as possible. Egg is your best bet if you can't take any milk protein, along with chicken and lean beef (like 95% lean hamburger cooked on the Forman grill). Fish is really good and really low in fat, but it can get expensive. I hate canned tuna but a lot of guys swear by it (I do love tuna steaks, cooked rare, but that's too pricey to eat all the time).

    Casein is a milk protein, but some people are only allergic to whey and not casein (and some people are only allergic to casein and not whey). It would be worth your while to see if you can tolerate casein even if you are allergic to whey.

    /karp
  6. Professional Member
    size's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,232
    Rep Power
    2267

    Reputation

    There are a variety of powder choices such as hemp, pea, rice, and egg.
  7. Registered User
    jrkarp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Age
    35
    Posts
    950
    Rep Power
    601

    Reputation

    Really? I've never seen hemp, pea, and rice... Are they more common in vegan type stores?

    /karp
  8. Board Supporter
    houseman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,706
    Rep Power
    1014

    Reputation

    Quote Originally Posted by size
    There are a variety of powder choices such as hemp, pea, rice, and egg.
    mmmm hemp
  9. Professional Member
    size's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,232
    Rep Power
    2267

    Reputation

    Quote Originally Posted by jrkarp
    Really? I've never seen hemp, pea, and rice... Are they more common in vegan type stores?
    They all exist, I promise. They are not very common in bbing or fitness more common in health/natural lifestyles.

    Note, I believe Poliquin(not 100% sure it is him) recommends that it is a good idea to periodically switch protein types. So if one has been exclusively using whey for some period, it would be wise to change to another type for a month.
  10. Senior Member
    exnihilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,577
    Rep Power
    923

    Reputation

    Poliquin says some crazy stuff, and he advocates some crazy things. Stuff with no real solid scientific basis. But he has trained a few badasses...
  11. New Member
    Cosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    215
    Rep Power
    250

    Reputation

    simple question here; are you allergic to the lactose? cause whey isolate should be sufficient then. I also have a problem with diary and whey concentrate and also casein but not whey isolate...
  12. Registered User
    jrkarp's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Age
    35
    Posts
    950
    Rep Power
    601

    Reputation

    Are the rice, hemp, etc proteins incomplete proteins? As far as I know, soy is the only non-animal protein that is a complete protein.

    /karp

    EDIT: By non-animal, I meant proteins that are not derived from an animal in any way, so egg and milk proteins would be animal proteins.
  13. Professional Member
    size's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,232
    Rep Power
    2267

    Reputation

    Quote Originally Posted by jrkarp
    Are the rice, hemp, etc proteins incomplete proteins? As far as I know, soy is the only non-animal protein that is a complete protein.
    I believe you are correct in that soy is the only "complete" protein from plants. Some recommend combining types such as pea and rice to obtain all of the essential amino acids.
  •   

      
     

Similar Forum Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 07:12 AM
  2. Allergic to WHEY, help!
    By bbastudent in forum Bulking
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 11:41 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-06-2009, 02:33 PM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-12-2008, 07:12 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Log in
Log in