Not sure which direction to go, need guidance

quigley

Awards
  • Established
Hi everyone,

I'm your typical lurk around the forum for years and do some gym and some failed diets and never really get anywhere type of guy. I could talk for an hour straight on exercise science and nutrition, I'm a biomedical scientist and I'm studying medicine, but that all counts for naught because in the past for various reasons and excuses I've been unable to make good results in the gym. I will say my genetics are pretty bad: my whole family gains muscle difficult, fat easy, and loses muscle easy. I know that genetics are not a limiting factor, but I do know that I need to be well disciplined and persistent to overcome my natural body type (skinny fat)

Anyhow: I had always been skinny fat and was on an endless bulk for years and years. I always viewed myself as skinny, so it was a surprise to me one day when I saw of photo of me on the beach and realised I look chubby. I thought I had just been 'filling out' finally. I estimate at this point I was 22-24% bodyfat, or somewhere thereabouts. Not fat, but definitely not lean or anywhere close.

Anyhow, I signed on to an 8km run, a 10km run and tough mudder. I've completed all three, and lost about 25lbs. I estimate my bodyfat to now be about 15%-16% (top abs starting to sneak through). However I am 6 foot 3 and weight only 175lbs. Despite all my years of 'bulking' I seem to have not much muscle under all the fat and now I'm getting leaner I am looking quite skinny.

So now I'm not sure what to do: Keep cutting (maybe do PSMF?) till I reach 10% and then bulk? If so I am going to look like a skeleton at 10% (well not a skeleton, but pretty damn skinny). Which doesn't excite me much.

If I try and bulk I face the possibility of ending up toward 20% again. That doesn't excite me either.

I'm not confident in my ability to recomp.

Any ideas? Should I just bite the bullet and cut further, even if I look like a waifer?

Cheers,
Nathan