Liquid diet?

BlackGT99

BlackGT99

Awards
Heard of a friend doing this diet and consuming only liquids and absolutely No Food. She got her nutrients solely from protein shakes... With extensive cardio she lost a lot of weight (of course) tell me why this is unhealthy or any other problems that you see with this?

mikestenger

mikestenger

Awards
I'm not an expert, but whenever I hear of a liquid diet, it's a bit worrying. For one, it's not necessary to lose weight. However, I guess if they were getting plenty of nutrients and weren't overdoing it at the gym, why not, although would figure out more details before doing the same. You want to be safe.

BlackGT99

BlackGT99

Awards
It doesn't seem safe at all to me... I'd never do it. But I figure it's gotta be pretty unhealthy and along with fat loss you'll probably be losing muscle as well

warsteiner

Awards
  • Established
I know 3 people (2 women, 1 man) who have done something similar. They were not lifting weights but doing a bit of cardio and only drinking shakes that they bought from the company that promotes the diet. I don't know which company it was or whether the shakes were just protein shakes but I presume they were.

All 3 lost a lot of weight in the 3 months that they followed the diet. All 3 had to slowly start eating solids again and the first couple of times each of them ate a small amount of solids they were sick as the stomach wasn't used to taking in solids, which can't be healthy. Only 1 (the man) managed to keep the weight off and, within 6 months the 2 women had put all of the weight back on.

It may be something you can do for a short time but I wouldn't recommend it. It will be much healthier to reduce slowly calories and lose the weight over a longer period of time.

bigdavid

bigdavid

Awards
  • Established