Need serious advice and reevaluation of my routine...no weight loss after 4 years

alih92

Awards
I'm 18, 5'9".

I started lifting in 9th grade all the way through 12th but never took it seriously and I've ****ed around with various diets (keto, carbs only in the morning, 40/40/20, etc) I would end up losing around 8-10 lbs and not be able to hold out and I'd gain the weight back and sometimes more (only about a 2-4 lbs). I went from 180 to 200 (as of today).

2 months ago I settled down stuck with a program, Starting Strength, and increased my squat 70lbs and did cardio 3x a week (hit) and went from 200 to 188 until my knees gave out.

I've been diagnosed with Patellar Femoral Syndrome, I've had it for around a year (damn lunges) but its at the point where it hurts too much after working out and I can't walk up stairs or down or lifting my leg up to get into the shower, or even drive without pain.

Today, I read that the aspartame in diet coke leads to degeneartive loss of bone and can shut down your thyroid, I had a legitimate soda addiction and I switched over to diet coke and have been drinking it for the last 3 years now (3-4 cans a day). I need to kick this habit, any advice?

I'm starting physical therapy tomorrow. As of now all I do is stretching everday, and LISS elliptical or the machine that's like an eliptical + stepper + treadmill...for 30 minutes a day with an avg heart rate of 168.

Is this too much?
Also I need a strict diet, could someone please help me on this?

I'm at a low point in my life with my health and all this has put great stress on me, I've realized I need to change because I know I have the potential to do so if I actually put the work in, but now I have a serious health issue, my weight puts too much stress on my knees and I need to lose the fat.

TimberLakers

TimberLakers

Awards
  • Established