My first cut needs some help O_O

ShadowFury

ShadowFury

Awards
  • Established
I'm 19, 5' 8", 180 lbs.

I've gone from 200 lbs of pretty much all fat(gamin' nerd/highschooler), to 140 lbs of...mush and then to 180 after I moved here to NC with my bro-in-law (Marine, hardcore lifter). He taught me a crapload before he left (he's playing with towel heads in Afghan right now :usa:) and seriously helped my (first) real bulk. I started lifting in Aug of '09, so I'm not too too experienced, so I'm happy when anyone helps me out :) The only hitch in the whole thing was that I did a cycle of H-drol (we both did). I did it under the rec age, but after all the research we did, we found that it was fairly weak, so we went ahead with it. Not sure if that was a good or bad idea (we both gained about 20 lbs on it), but we did it.

I'm happy with how I'm growing, but the fat has to go before I keep bulking. I look really thick, but I know most of it isn't muscle in my stomach, and def not on my sides. Since you can't really spot treat, I figure going on a cut will hit that area mainly because I don't have a lot of fat in other areas.

Sorry for the wall of text, but figured I'd give background incase any of it mattered.

My eating has been really, really random the past 2 weeks from "vacation", so my diet has been screwed up, but I just got back home. I usually have about 2500 cals a day(before the trip), sometimes up to 3000 cals. I was able to get bigger fairly quick from eating 2500-3000, but I also put on that fat, so I'm not sure if it was such a great idea.

Since I did eat 2500-3000 a day, should I cut the difference and shoot for 2250 cals while cutting? What should my macros look like for cutting? I know 1.5g protein per lb, but not sure on carbs/fat.