Female very resistant to weight loss

1. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  235 lbs.

Female very resistant to weight loss

I need some help here as I am at my wits end. My wife is struggling with her weight for the last few years. In the past she has been fit and was an aerobics instructor and swam on a regular basis. We have two children and she has spent the majority of her time and effort on them. For the last two year she has been trying to loose weight and in fact continues to gain. I have a degree in Exercise Physiology and have trained many men and women over the years and am an avid fitness freak. We have tried everything. Changing food intake, interval training, stims, thermo, long slow distance, straight lifting, combination of pretty much everything I can think of let alone borrow from this forum. I need some help on a thought. Here is what I think is the problem. Let me know if you think I am on crack. Probably five years back she had a lump on her thyroid. The docs opened her up and took it and half of her thyroid with it. Every year on her physical she gets it tested and they say it is low but still in the range. Am I crazy thinking that in the range may be the issue here? She cooks for me and so I know what she eats. So short of her sneaking Snickers at work I am 100% it is not diet. We tried Thyroid Energy from Now but she feels absolutely the same. At this point she is ready to try and listen to any advice. Thanks for the insights. Cheers

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  190 lbs.

Hypothyroidism would explain her situation. Have you considered going to a different endocrinologist?
  3. Registered User

yea, assuming you did everything right... my thoughts are that it's a thyroid problem like Gator said, or a progesterone problem. It's best you consult this with a doctor.
    •   

4. Never enough
    Board Moderator
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.