help/discussion on bulking and cutting

K

ketms

Awards
Hello all,

I am looking for some advice and opinions on building muscle. Do you have an easier time building muscle at a higher bf% or lower? Does the rate of adding lean mass increase at a higher or lower bf?

Any experience/opinions/advice is welcome here. I am looking for help in my 'quest'. I am 20yrs old, 6'1 195@ about 20%bf. Im hoping for advice on whether to continue on a bulk or cut down first. 20% is obviously high but I would like to gain 30lbs lean mass over the next couple years and want to to do this as efficiently and fast as possible (as everyone does lol). Ive been lifting for the past 4 years but only truely serious this past year. Id like to aviod discussion on any AAS/prohormones for this thread

thanks and again, any advice/opnions are welcome

:006:

R

rrm

Awards
keep goin at it. Easier to gain now than when your older.

B5150

B5150

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Your body has a natural set point for it's body fat. As you force your body below it's set point it is fighting to keep fat and will sacrifice LBM if you allow it. It is best to be at or above your set point to gain LBM. It can be done at or below your set point but this usually requires a lot of experience with your nutrition and or drugs and steroids.

Yes, it is easier to gain LBM with a surplus of body fat or a less lean condition. But obesity is not a prerequisite for LBM. 20% bf could easily be reduced to 16% while easily gaining several lbs of lbm.

Bulking up does not necessarily mean fattening up and is not advisable for long term lifestyle and health issues.

B

BoyFromAus

Awards
  • Established