A few CKD diet questions for a newbie

blitzkriegjim

Awards
I just started CKD on Monday of this past week, and by Tuesday evening, I had that feeling of "mental fuzziness", dizziness, bad breath, and had trouble sleeping at night. This is my first time trying the diet and so I guess I'm in ketosis now. I've heard the adaptation phase takes quite some time for dieters (a few weeks), but it's Thursday now and I feel like I'm mentally all there again and I have this smooth buzz of energy. I'm just wondering if this is at all normal, and how quickly one normally sees results. I feel my muscles are getting smaller, but I am unsure whether I am losing muscle mass or whether it is because of glycogen depletion. I know these are simple questions, but since I'm new to this diet and don't have experience, I don't want to be losing too much muscle mass.....

My diet consists of a lot of fish oil, flax oil, EVOO, nuts, protein shakes, and chicken breasts.

spiderduncan

spiderduncan

Awards
  • Established
I just started CKD on Monday of this past week, and by Tuesday evening, I had that feeling of "mental fuzziness", dizziness, bad breath, and had trouble sleeping at night. This is my first time trying the diet and so I guess I'm in ketosis now.
No necessarily...have you been working out? If you haven't worked out, you may not be in ketosis. Aside from lowering dietary intake of carbohydrates, you must deplete liver glycogen levels.

I feel my muscles are getting smaller, but I am unsure whether I am losing muscle mass or whether it is because of glycogen depletion. I know these are simple questions, but since I'm new to this diet and don't have experience, I don't want to be losing too much muscle mass.....
Just can/should feel depleted. Remember that depleting muscle glycogen is part of the process. Ketogenic/cyclical diets are best way to shed body fat while preserving lean body mass, so you are heading in the right direction.

Keep up the hard work!

blitzkriegjim