Do you need muscle to cut?

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'7"  148 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    1.64%

Do you need muscle to cut?

I've been lifting for a few months now, so obviously i don't have that much muscle, but have some. I'm 5'6 152 and i have a little gut. Although, you can see my top abs a bit. Honestly, i just want a cut body type, low b/f and healthy/fit looking. Not so much of a body builder look.

My question is, if i go on a cut and lose the b/f, will i still look alright since i obviously haven't developed much muscle? I mean, do you need muscle to look good when going on a cut? From what I've read, body fat determines abs and you cannot spot reduce. I understand this, but i don't really see myself losing much fat anywhere else other than my abdominal.

So, if I'm going for that cut look, should i continue on lifting and cut? I don't rely on cardio, i rely on weight lifting for fat loss. I do 15mins of cardio at 8 speed on the treadmill 2x a week. But, other than that i do a FBW 3x a week. I'm eating slightly under my calorie maintenance, but not a lot.

Thanks for the help!

2. New Member
    Stats
    5'10"  180 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    20.53%

You can set whatever fitness goals you want for yourself. Sounds like if you did a cut right now, you'd lose some fat, but yeah, you wouldn't have much muscle underneath.

A lot of people go on bulk diets to try to gain lean muscle mass and then eventually try to cut the fat and keep most of the muscle.

Higher amounts of muscle mean a higher RMR, which means you're burning more calories just going about your daily living. So the more muscle you have, the easier it is to keep the fat off and the easier it is to lose fat.

Hope that helped
  3. New Member
    Stats
    5'7"  148 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    1.64%