Newb CKD question - Diminished Mental Capacity?

Fry

Awards
Just started learning about CKD, as I need to lose some belly flab and that seems to be pretty popular. Quick question...

As described further
below, one study (22) found a decrement in mental flexibility during the
first week of adopting aketogenic diet. Therefore, for individuals who's
jobs or livelihood requires great mental acuity, the ketogenic diet
approach (cyclical or otherwise) may not be an ideal one.
Have you guys found this to actually be more than just theory? I'm an advanced control systems engineer by day and an MBA student by night so any additional difficulty in focusing would mean that this isn't the strategy for me.

BoyFromAus

Awards
  • Established
that's a similar problem to what i had man.

I'm a software developer for a retail company during the day.
When I went on CKD for 2 weeks, it was very hard to focus plus my stomach couldn't take it too well. It could have been psychological or it could have been glucose deprivation maybe?

Currently i'm on a 40 - 30 - 30 diet for fat loss and that seems to be working slow but well.

ThomasRivera

ThomasRivera

Awards
  • Established
Just started learning about CKD, as I need to lose some belly flab and that seems to be pretty popular. Quick question...

Have you guys found this to actually be more than just theory? I'm an advanced control systems engineer by day and an MBA student by night so any additional difficulty in focusing would mean that this isn't the strategy for me.

There is some brain fog, but it largely depends on the person.

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
and as they say, it tends to be worst as you first go into ketosis, seems a lot better once you are fully in.

Fry

Awards
Eek. Doesn't sound like a great option for me.

Well, more reading.

Thanks!

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established