Realistic cutting time table?

dpfisher

I've been lifting for a couple years but I've never cut fat very low because I was always trying to put on muscle. I just try to keep from gaining fat and cut for short periods of time when I do.

I'm 5'7 and about 170 even right now. An optimistic estimate would be that the lowest BF% I've ever been at was about 14%, but I am probably higher than that now. My cheapo scale says 19% but I'm pretty sure I'm closer to 16% right now.

Anyway, I know it's variable but say I want to get cut for the summer. When should I stop bulking and start cutting? I eat clean except maybe 1 meal a week, and I'm not opposed to devoting some extra time on top of normal workouts to this. I ask because I assume that although I can cut fat quickly at some point it gets much more difficult.

Aggravated

Aggravated

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
I've been lifting for a couple years but I've never cut fat very low because I was always trying to put on muscle. I just try to keep from gaining fat and cut for short periods of time when I do.

I'm 5'7 and about 170 even right now. An optimistic estimate would be that the lowest BF% I've ever been at was about 14%, but I am probably higher than that now. My cheapo scale says 19% but I'm pretty sure I'm closer to 16% right now.

Anyway, I know it's variable but say I want to get cut for the summer. When should I stop bulking and start cutting? I eat clean except maybe 1 meal a week, and I'm not opposed to devoting some extra time on top of normal workouts to this. I ask because I assume that although I can cut fat quickly at some point it gets much more difficult.
No time is better than now my friend. Better to go ahead and get it out of the way during the last part of winter. This of course will also make it easier on yourself and you wont sacrifice too much muscle mass.

dpfisher