OEP and Tyramine

dekd

Awards
Well I've read about how yohimbe interacts with tyramine, and it kinda freaked me out a bit. Does the alpha-yohimbe react the same to tyramine? And if so, what foods should I avoid to be as healthy and safe as possible??

borobulker

borobulker

Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
Well I've read about how yohimbe interacts with tyramine, and it kinda freaked me out a bit. Does the alpha-yohimbe react the same to tyramine? And if so, what foods should I avoid to be as healthy and safe as possible??
I have no background in this. I have forwarded your post to someone who should be able to help you out.

We appreciate your patience.

strategicmove

strategicmove

Legend
Awards
  • Established
  • Legend!
Tyramine is a naturally-occuring trace amine that is found in its highest concentrations in fermented foods and beverages including aged meat, many types of cheeses, wine, overripe fruits, certain soy-containing foods, and so on. In general, tyramine is formed during the breakdown of proteins that occurs when foods age. Tyramine belongs to the phenethylamine family and is also synthesized from tyrosine. Usually, tyramine is synthesized in the liver to an inactive metabolite. However, in the presence of the hepatic inhibition of monoamine oxidase [MAO-A] (tyramine is deaminated by MAO-A) by appropriate drugs, tyramine levels rapidly accumulate, ultimately leading to excess norepinephrine concentrations and hypertensive attacks. Ordinarily, however, tyramine is harmless, but can produce serious side effects if combined with MOA inhibitor drugs, especially MAO-A inhibitors, but not selective MAO-B inhibitors.