How to hombrew PLO gel

acecombact1

Awards
Ok guys im a newbie wanabe pharmacy student , I did tons of research before the holiday on PLO gel, and I spend sometimes on library reading about transdermal gel compounding . Here is instructions to make 8 Oz of PLO gel.

Ingredients:

-Lecithin with high phosphatidylecholing concentration ( you can buy it from here: http://www.bulknutrition.com/?products_id=617 this Lecithin contains 25% phosphatidyl choline) . the higher concentration of PS in the lecithin the better it is.

-Isopropyl palimate (from www.lemelange.com)

-Surfactant (from lemelange Surfactant Oil Blend - A proprietary blend of surfactants, including PS20)

-Isopropyl alcohol ( I got mine from health store for 0.99 cents per 8 Oz 91% pure)

-D-Limonene (optional)

How to prepare:
(oil phase)
-Weigh 50g of lecithin powder.
-In a beaker measure 120ML of Isopropyl palimate.
-Add the lecithin to the Isopropyl palimate in the beaker and mix. You can either leave the mix covered for one day and the lecithin will dissolve on its own. Or you can heat the mix with hot water path, but note phosphatidylecholing is very sensitive to heat, and it may be denatured.

Liquid phase :

Original formula of plo gel uses of Pluronic F127, which is a surfactant and detergent. Pluronic F127 Is hard to find, because it’s a patent surfactant. Now the main pupose of Pluronic F127 , is to mix the oil phase ( which is very thick and take long time to dry) with the polar solvents. it also helps to adjust the consistency and make it easier to apply and dose, it also good penetration enhancer. Now I replaced Pluronic F127, with surfactant blend from lemelange contains Polysorbate 20 (PS20), which is used in cosmetic products and acts very similar to Pluronic F127 ( mixes oils with with polar solvents).
Liquid phase acts mainly as solvent for the PH or AAS you going to choose.