I have a buddy that close grips more than he can regular bench? - AnabolicMinds.com

I have a buddy that close grips more than he can regular bench?

1. New Member
    Stats
    6'1"  190 lbs.

I have a buddy that close grips more than he can regular bench?

I have been training a buddy of mine for 4 months, and im not a proffesional or anything but I have helped train a few people through the years, and my buddy couldnt bench press much at all so I kept having him work more on triceps and back, well one of the first things I had him do was close grip bench to get his bench press up, and he did about 50 more lbs than he does on regular bench, and its now been 3 weeks and he has went up on regular bench and closegrip bench but still is doing 5olbs more on closegrip. What is making it like that? ...We both weigh 185 and both 6ft tall and he has lifted 2 months and I have lifted 4 months and I close grip 225-6x he close grips 225-5x but I bench 295-1x and he bench presses 225-1x I never seen anything like it?

2. Diamond Member
    Stats
    5'8"  230 lbs.

stronger arms than pecs or just bad form???
  3. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'1"  210 lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by BAARON View Post
    We both weigh 185 and both 6ft tall and he has lifted 2 months and I have lifted 4 months and I close grip 225-6x he close grips 225-5x but I bench 295-1x and he bench presses 225-1x I never seen anything like it?
    I don't understand this last sentence. You said you were training him for 4 months? Then that you have been lifting for 4 months and he's only lifting for 2? Am I missing something?
    •   

4. New Member
    Stats
    6'1"  190 lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by leetuser View Post
    I don't understand this last sentence. You said you were training him for 4 months? Then that you have been lifting for 4 months and he's only lifting for 2? Am I missing something?