Strapping on the cleats once again: Rugby advice needed - AnabolicMinds.com

Strapping on the cleats once again: Rugby advice needed

Strapping on the cleats once again: Rugby advice needed

I start my first rugby practice tonight. I am:

6"2
    230lbs
    10-15% bodyfat

I have been training for strength for the last 3 years. I had no other goal than to lift more weight. Now, after 8 years I am returning to the field. I am an ex-football player. I played American football for 12 years, and was pretty bad ass in my day. But now, I need as much advice as you guys can give me about changing my training program to be the best rugby player I can be, ect.

2. MovinWeight

Well I believe what your doing already should be fine most likely. You would want a more strength focused routine, rather than mass building. I don't know if your already doing cardio or not, but if not then you defiantly want to add some a couple days a week. It will help get you back in cardiovascular shape and maybe drop a few pounds of unneeded fat.

Oh yeah, I forgot to say that. I have been running using HIT cardio. Luckily the place a stay at is on a loop, so I can run laps around my neighborhood. I run at a high speed for 3/4 the loop, and then walk the last 1/4 to catch my breath. The loop is about a 1/2 mile. I try to run the loop faster each day, and add more laps.
    •   

4. MovinWeight

I would say that the weight training your currently doing is probably fine. Just make sure once you start playing your not training so hard that your over training because the added intensity of playing rugby will make it more difficult to recover from high intensity weight training.

I would just add in some sprints and do some more agility work to just try to get you back into an athletic and agile shape.
    Stats
    5'10"  205 lbs.

Reputation Reputation