Chest Question

cjbadboy

Awards
I have been working out for about four years now and i am seeing great progress everywhere except for my chest. I feel like my chest is strong enough(i max bpress 330) but i am unhappy with the way it looks....just not quite to par. Any suggestions on workouts or supps?

VolcomX311

VolcomX311

Legend
Awards
  • Established
  • Legend!
What do your sets x reps looks like? Your maximal strength has much less to do with the aesthetics of your pecks and more to do with neural aspects of your strength mechanism. Ignore the last sentence if that was too wordy, I can't help but talk like that when it comes to bodybuilding/physiology.

What do your sets and reps look like when you bench, including which exercises. What does your average bench day look like?

somewhatgifted

somewhatgifted

Awards
  • Established
typically people with smaller chest cavities and or long arms encounter this issue. Another reason is well developed strong front delts that initiate the lift and prevent the chest from superceeding the delts power. Try practicing your press where you feel total chest activation and use a smaller range of motion , like charles glass recommends. Check this thread out http://anabolicminds.com/forum/exercise-science/84222-tall-chest-exercises.html

cjbadboy

Awards
I work out chest and triceps just about every four days. Usually i do a heavy day 4-6 reps on each excercise and a lighter day anywhere from 8-14 reps.

3x bpress or flat dbell
3-4x incline dbell with some flyes thrown in
Superset of low and regular cable cross usually four sets
3x dbell pullovers
then finish up with alternating sets of 20 incline decline and regular pushups.

Sometimes that workout changes but that is what i have been doing for the past month or so.