help with my training

Gym4Life

Awards
  • Established
ok guys well firstly i just wanted to ask is it just free weights which build you up because sum guys up my gym recomend using the seated weight machines but i thought they was just for tonning ?????

Allso for building up i have read its better to do heavy but low reps...

But some guy the other day said i wasent lifting properly on bench and a tricep machine and he said i would be better of lifting much lighter and getting the movement perfect ....

Would that help build me up though even if its a much less weight but the movement is better i did feel it working better at a lower weight ???

sorry for the crap posts just thought id ask you experts as im quite new to all this.

DIALEDIN

DIALEDIN

Awards
Hey This is DIALED IN - I am the author of the boojk DIALED IN and can answer your question right out of the book - if you like it, check out the book at http:/stores.lulu.com/RYAN4748

Machines vs. Free Weights

DEFINITION

Compound Exercise – An exercise in weight training that uses multiple joints. Secondary muscles assist the primary muscles in performing the exercise. Normally, you perform heavier compound exercises prior to isolation exercises. For example, Squats use several muscle groups.
Isolation Exercise – An exercise in weight training that works a single joint. These exercises isolate a single muscle without working other muscle groups. For example, bicep curls only hit the bicep.

Are machines or free weights preferable?
They both have their place in the gym. You should periodically switch between machines and free weights depending on your needs. I have found that experimentation is needed to make appropriate decisions for specific exercises.
Here are some examples that I have found from my own workouts.
 I prefer to use compound movements (squats, dead lifts) with free weight barbells or a Smith Machine.