Length of Workouts

HDeuce7

HDeuce7

Awards
I have been training with this guy now for a few months and have had some pretty decent results. He is a good bit stronger than I and has been training for a few more years than I have. But the problem I have been having is he trains for to long. I mean on chest/tri day, it takes at least two hours to get through the workout. We will do 6 -7 exercises for chest and usually 4 for tris. I have had some pretty good gains but it seems like we are over training. I have always read and been told you should be lifting weights for 1.5 hours tops and should only do 4-5 exercises for big muscle groups and 3-4 for smaller ones. The question I am getting at is "how long should we be training for and how many exercises should we do per muscle groups?" Also, I am now cutting for the summer time and am more focused on loosing weight than getting bigger. Is working out for a long time going to hinder my fat loss? Also does anyone know any articles I can read that talk about length of workout and/or how execises per muscle group.

Iron Warrior

Iron Warrior

Awards
  • Established
Is he working out 2 hours a day because he lags between sets ? I don't end up going more then 1.5 hours with cardio included. Training like this may not be detrimental during the short term but I wouldn't plan on training like that forever

Chad

Chad

Banned
Awards
  • Established
i used to train for about an hour. but this past cycle i have been hitting for over two. my gains have been much better with the longer workout. and i do rest more between sets now.

HDeuce7

HDeuce7

Awards
Is he working out 2 hours a day because he lags between sets ? I don't end up going more then 1.5 hours with cardio included. Training like this may not be detrimental during the short term but I wouldn't plan on training like that forever
It is not because we lag between sets, it is because we do so many exercises and between 4 and 5 sets per exercise, usually 4.

CRUNCH

CRUNCH