is 5/3/1 for me - fellow PL help me please!

Matthew1237

Matthew1237

Awards
Hey all, I'm just wondering if 5/3/1 would be a good program for me - I see a lot of positive stuff about wendlers 5/3/1 as far as it being a very easy and straightforward program to follow - I've read a large chunk of 5/3/1 and beyond 5/3/1. I see some people make pretty damn good progress - while others do not. I would like to try it but I hear it's something you have to commit to for several months before really seeing some solid progress. But obviously before you guys can help me much - I'll tell you a bit more about me.

I'm currently cutting - I am at about 163.5 lbs at 5'6" - I've been training consistently for 20 months now. My best lifts were at 170 I did 365 deadlift, 340 squat, and a 260 bench - so my numbers are still quite low. I started off doing bodybuilding style training, arnolds blueprint, then moved back to my teenage routes of HST, high frequency full body or upper/lower and now onto more of a push/pull approach. When I started powerlifting this past july - I went back 5x5 which I had done for a little bit and really enjoyed - I did this until I stalled out roughly at a 190x5 bench, 270x5 squat, and a 295x5 deadlift. Which to me seemed like an awfully fast stopping point for linear progression - mind you I was cutting then as well.