Best way to work out imbalances + uneven pumps??

TNlifting

TNlifting

Awards
  • Established
Hey guys! I'm pretty new here and really liking the forums so far. I have a question. So a while ago I had a shoulder injury (right shoulder) and had to take a month off of lifting. Since I've been back I've been trying to go real easy on my shoulder. I think I have a trap imbalance now (left trap bigger) though because I always feel it more when I stretch on the left side and it also appears larger in the mirror. What is the best way to even this out? Just an extra set on that side? Or is there a better way? Also whenever I do chest I always get a bigger pump in my left pec. I pay close attention to my form so I don't think it's that. This has been going on since before my shoulder injury too. However it doesn't look quite as imbalanced as my trap. What do you guys think??

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
There's part of your problem. The dominant hand has a tendency to be both protracted and internally rotated.

TNlifting

TNlifting

Awards
  • Established
There's part of your problem. The dominant hand has a tendency to be both protracted and internally rotated.
Hence shoulder impingement I'm guessing?
And what can I do about this?

avega17

Awards
  • Established
I have the same problem. My right shoulder is a little "loose" and by that I feel like it sits slightly lower, maybe slightly anterior, and connective tissue isn't as strong due to overuse injuries from playing baseball growing up.

I have difficulty properly contracting my right delt on shoulder days (mainly the medial and rear as my traps take over). On chest days, as much as I try to stay down and back with my shoulders, my right side seems to fall out of place somewhere along the movement at times and my push is asymmetrical.