Need some help

rj_xo

Awards
Hey guys I'm currently studying to become a personal trainer online but there's a little bit I don't understand. Basically, when you get your first client, what does the first session consist of? Is it just a par-q form, finding out their goals and talking? Or do you actually develop a routine into the first session? Because how can you do that when you do not know then client, their goals, activity level, injuries/illness etc... If anyone could help me out that'd be great I'm just confused on how the first session is supposed to go & whether or not exercise is prescribed into the first session
Thanks!

LeanEngineer

LeanEngineer

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
I think you should leave it open with them or just discuss their goals and how often they train their diet etc on the first day and then get feed back and start the training the next session or after you get info from them.

Wrivest

Wrivest

Awards
It's gonna be case by case bro. A good trainer needs to adapt to their clients. Ex: if you have a client who is 100% new to fitness, your discussion with them should be extensive and encouraging, while keeping it from becoming intimidating. Give them a small taste of what is to come, and build from there.
If you get a more seasoned client, who just wants a kick in the ass, you may be able to dive in quicker.
Above all, be encouraging and monitor their safety. Like I said, it's case by case. Good luck, hope that helped a little

jswain34

jswain34

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar