Need help with trap/shoulder issues

Ambizione

Ambizione

Awards
Hey guys,
Ok so long story short I am having trap/left shoulder blade issues and I cannot keep going the way im going. Ive been training for 3 years seriously. Last year I got into a pretty nasty t-bone accident. In the accident I injured my lower back and my left side hit the driver side door post next to me. I have had nonstop issues from this point on. I herniated a lower disk and ill stop the boring story now but my point is that I have worked around my lower back issues, but I cannot do any type of trap exercise without extreme discomfort post workout. I did not tear my rotator cuff, only tweaked it in a way that always bothers me ONLY when I work traps. I have continued to push through this and go ahead with my sets but anything over 135lb barbell shrugs and I pay for it for the next day or two. I have tried the barbell shrugs, close grip rows, and dumbell shrugs. I can do dumbells up to 45lbs with no pain,but this is still not heavy enough to instill growth to be up to par with the rest of my body. I also do heavy rack pulls in place of deadlifts due to my back, and I know that works the traps to a certain degree, but its not enough. If I dont work my traps I will look completely ridiculous because my arms and chest completely overpower them when I look in the mirror. Any ideas or experience would be highly appreciated. Thanks

Ambizione

Ambizione

Awards
Im going to look into all of these as well. And I can feel muscle activation with upwright rows, but I dont know if they will add the mass that can be had with heavy shrugging movements. Thank you though

KrisL

KrisL

Awards
  • Established
I can feel muscle activation with upwright rows, but I dont know if they will add the mass that can be had with heavy shrugging movements.
If the Lillibridges like 'em, I've got faith in 'em. It's hard to replace deadlifts and heavy shrugs, but you do what you can.

Ambizione

Ambizione

Awards