Pull Ups

bill1369

Awards
In today's NY Times there is an article about the military, woman and training that focuses on the Marine Corps. The article states that the Corps fitness test requires of guys, a minimum of 3 hanging pull ups (no bent arms to cheat) with 20 being a perfect score. Women in the Corps need to perform 8 for their perfect score.

I am curious about what others here might think of my opinion on this. I don't think big guys, as a rule, can do many pull ups (hand on top of the bar). I clock the scale at about 200 and have for years. I can bench about my weight and the same for a lat pull down. But pull ups? I am lucky to do 4 - and, since I am so lousy at doing them, I rarely ever do a pull up.

I watch the guys in the gym who seem to crank out 20 pull ups between every set they do and they are always slender guys. When I graduated from boot camp at Parris Island, I did 11 and have never been close to that mark again. That was in 1964 and I am now 66. Come on....someone tell me large mass guys cannot do pull ups.

Spaniard

Spaniard

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Pull ups are a great exercise and should be a part of your program IMO
- Valdez

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Being a certain weight is no excuse for an inability to do a pullup.

mattrag

mattrag

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I used to be 260+lbs and I couldn't do it but now I can. Just gotta get the motion down.

boogyman

Awards
Being a certain weight is no excuse for an inability to do a pullup.
I agree, and not just because i am not too big lol. Manipulating ones bodyweight is a skill most people should possess just for the utility of it. Climbing and such. Same as anyone who actively works out should do deads and standing presses. These are real world movements that can help with everyday life outside the gym.

CopyCat

CopyCat

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established