Please comment on my GVT leg day!

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'9"  197 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    84.73%

Please comment on my GVT leg day!

Hi all, I'll start off by stating I'm not a novice as I have been training off/on for 20 years. With that being said I am always learning and open to new ideas and opinions, I know that this routine may be pretty standard but I would like to share and maybe facilitate new ideas. Now that I'm 35yo I have recently decided to really mix it up and try different discipline's. Tried CF for a few weeks and thought it was good for a new kind of burn, It helped me realize that my cardio was lacking so after deciding the CF craze really wasn't for me I did re-introduce more cardio into my regimen. I also Mountainbike pretty consistantly (2-3 times per week in the summer and once a week in the winter), It helps me stay lean and keeps the legs young.

I primarily train with bodybuilding as my main focus. Focus primarily on compound lifts and usually switch it up every 5-6 weeks or so. Throughout the course of my career in the gym I have seen some pretty acceptable PR's imo given I primarily maintain weight between 188-208 summer/winter respectively.

BP 405, Raw squat 515, 525 dead lift. Never used straps or gloves.

Now those are PR's. More recently, I rarely go above 245 BP, 365 squat and 315 dead lift. Again focusing more on hypertrophy than anything else.

Back in October my partner an I were just experimenting with box squats. We set up the box in the squat cage so that it is just at parrallel. We threw 225 on the bar and did probably 5-6 sets just calibrating and figuring out foot position and focusing on form. We then added rubber bands and anchored them to the cage and popped them over the bar ends and did 2-3 sets more. I'm not sure of which bands they are (they're purple/maroon and about 1.75" wide) but I know at full extention or lock out they are extremely tought.