Back to Linear Progression? Or on to 5/3/1?

SLW2

SLW2

Awards
Hi guys, I am relatively new here at AM and somewhat new to lifting.

I have been lifting for a total of 3 years, but the first year and a half I didnt really know what I was doing. During the last year or so I did Starting Strength for about 6 months and made some decent progress but started to feel really taxed from squatting heavy 3x a week (poor diet probably didnt help this). I switched to a 4 day upper/lower split and have been doing that for the last 5-6 months. I am going to be taking 2.5 weeks off from the gym because of a couple of back to back vacations coming up soon. When I return I was considering either going back onto Starting Strength for a short time before moving onto 5/3/1 or just starting 5/3/1 right away. I was hoping for some help in that decision. Here are my stats to help figure out what would be best for me.

Male
28 y.o.
6'2
208 lbs

Max Lifts (estimated using the formula Wendler gives in the 5/3/1 book)
Squat = 250 lbs
Deadlift = 250 lbs
Bench = 242 lbs
OHP = 136 lbs

(my squats and deads are low because of reoccurring back injury due primarily to poor form. Hopefully I have that figured out now though and can stay injury free for a while)

Do you think it would be wise to go back onto linear progression for a month or two after the time out of the gym? Or should I just move on and start 5/3/1?

I appreciate any suggestions, Thanks!

N.Woods Giant

N.Woods Giant

Awards
  • Established
I think you could probably go back to Starting Strength for a little while. Then again, there are a lot of testimonials from beginners making great progress on 531. I guess I'll let more knowledgeable people chime in here.

benmayro

benmayro

Awards
  • Established
I would say go into 5/3/1.. dont go straight in.. make your 100% 80% of what it really is..start like than and a year from that time (5/3/1 should be close to a 12month program) yoiu be amaze by your gains...