Chronic low back injuries- Need routine/advice

1. New Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    99.36%

Chronic low back injuries- Need routine/advice

I injured my back when I was younger before I started working out at all. Now I have been working out for about 3-4 years, and every 5 months or so I re-injure my low back. It is usually a crunch or pop feeling and then I am in a lot of pain for 2-6 days.

It first would only happen with squats and deadlifts. However I managed to get a good form with my squats after reading starting strength. I can keep my back nice and tight and have not injured it during squats in close to a year. I have taken deadlifts out of my routine because I just cant seem to do them without hurting my back. Now today I hurt my back again doing bent-over rows.

I am so sick and tired of this happening. Can someone please recommend something to help eliminate this problem? Books, exercises, stretches, routines, anything will be appreciated.

I am hoping someone else has suffered from low back issues and has found a way to train that reduces/eliminates this problem.

2. Board Sponsor
    Stats
    5'10"  220 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    36.56%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting ProPosting Authority

What is your core routine?
    M.Ed. Ex Phys
  3. New Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    99.36%

I haven't really been doing any core work... I had tried to do sit-ups but after a while that seemed to be causing mild discomfort to my lower back so I discontinued them.
    •   

4. Board Sponsor
    Stats
    5'10"  220 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    36.56%
    Achievements Activity VeteranActivity ProActivity AuthorityPosting ProPosting Authority

Quote Originally Posted by N.Woods Giant View Post
    I haven't really been doing any core work... I had tried to do sit-ups but after a while that seemed to be causing mild discomfort to my lower back so I discontinued them.