Help with chest

lemke28

lemke28

Awards
It seems no matter how hard I work my chest, it doesn't seem to want to grow like the rest of my body. My bench goes up size doesn't change much. I know my chest has gotten stronger, but it seems it doesn't grow much. I've been lifting for 6-7 years but serious for about 4 years and have always had issues with putting mass on my chest. I was looking to get some pointers on what I can do to help this issue. Thanks

owlicks

owlicks

Awards
I don't think there is anything better you can do to develop an impressive-appearing chest than a lot of heavy upper chest work. I put most of effort into upper chest movements these days. It can also be helpful, even though you've had years of lifting experience, to re-evaluate your form on bench. I found that once I passed the 225 lbs mark on bench, I had to re-train myself how to do it properly even though I have 10+ years experience. Watch some powerlifting instructional videos. The crucial point is to tuck your elbows as you go down so that you take the strain off of your shoulders. I see far too many lifters benching with their elbows parallel with their shoulders all the way down. You simply cannot go as heavy as you need to with that form. I guarantee that once you can rep >265 lbs on flat bench and >225 lbs on incline, your chest will be developing nicely.

alexoc949

alexoc949

Awards
  • Established
might help if you posted your current chest routine

fame126

fame126

Awards
  • Established
Not trying to jack the thread but i have issues with the side of my chest. Like the part connecting to your armpit? Dont know how to explain it other than side of chest.

McCoy1989

Awards