Knee wraps & squats: yes or no?

AutoKal47

AutoKal47

AK DoubleWide 47
Awards
Ok so today I received (for free) a pair of knee wraps, very good quality and everything
I've never used knee wraps before, only a not-so-tight knee sleeve on my right knee
for some weeks due to a light injury that I didn't want to get worse, really just for warmth
it wasn't "supporting" at all (it would also be bad on just one leg..)

So long story short, I wanted to try them and today I happened to have
deadlift/(light&raw) squats/abs
Usually on this day I really work on form and squat past parallel with not too much weight
as opposed of course to legs day.

I go for my 4 sets of squats 12/10/8/6 + burn superset, this comes after my deadlift routine
so I'm pretty beat up and I couldn't really squat as heavy as I do on leg day even if I could.

I put on these wraps at my 3rd set and holy goddamn! I *eat the set alive*!
I go for the 4th and again, then I had to check the weight because it was ridiculous how easy that was.
I ended up adding TWO sets and got really close to how much I squat - fresh - on legs day.
I even more impressive was how much FASTER I was squatting..

Now, 10 hours passed from my wo and the area right above my left knee hurts a bit,
nothing serious, but it made me think:

knee wraps: yay or nay?

Do they weaken my knees?
Do they make me lift heavier BUT at the same time put the knee at risk of injuries because of that?

I don't squat THAT heavy, my legs are not my stronger body part but still, I'm 166lbs and I squat 268 at my last set
and 296lbs last set of bb hack squat, perfect form and these are not my 1RM
and worth mentioning my bones are *thin as f#ck*, like seriously thin.. Never had a serious injury tho' due to BB
in 10+ years of training.

I'm half excited because if the effect of these on legs day is gonna be the same, holy ^#$T batman
some weight is gonna be tossed around next Thu, at the same time the lil pain (feels like muscle tho' not tendons,