Any advanced guys use 3x week splits?

Cantell

Awards
  • Established
Just wondering if any "advanced" lifters still used 3x a week splits. Ie: Monday, Wednesday, Friday. Or even fullbody routines?

I know when I started lifting I always did 3x weekly splits, something like Chest/tris Legs/shoulders Back/bis.

However, now days I do 5x weekly splits. BUT, I havent been making gains, and I dont see why other than maybe its just to much gym time.

What do you guys think? IS 3x weekly ENOUGH?

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
i just started doing it this past summer. ever since i was 15, i was on a "bodybuilder split"....u know, chest day, back day, leg day...etc I tried DC for the first time this summer. LOVED IT. i rotate between my own workout routine i created, DC, and 5x5....occasionally for a few weeks ill go to a 4x/week split but nothing over that. im loving my recovery with 3x/week. i have tried full body splits, i HATE them with a passion.

i used to think the same thing as you did....now way i can get accomplished what i wanna get in 3 days per week. boy was i wrong. 5x5 is legit, DC is awesome....you dont grow in the gym anyways. more rest u get the better. I have been used to high volume for ever. now i dont wanna go back to high volume. im loving my rotation.

ssbackwards

Awards
  • Established
i like 3 days a week,

I totally skip arms though. always. may do it once a month. but i do

chest/shoulder monday
legs wednesday
Back Friday

I also run to and from the gym on the workout days.

and box on the others. take saturday off completely and just run sunday

i duno if you can call it a 3 day split, but in terms of lifting it is.

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
see, i do arms, but dont do shoulders. i do reverse flys on back day and chest day i get a good workout in my front delts

BigRed904

Awards