just starting out..

B

bzt2520

Awards
I'm just starting out lifting weights, my goal is to get bigger arms and mass.. I weigh 140 5'8.
I need help, can I get any suggestions for a beginner workout?

dunhill225

dunhill225

Awards
I would start with a real simple chest, delts and tris on Mon and thurs and back, bis and legs on tues and Friday.
Compound exs, maybe 2 exs for 2-3 sets each (post warm up) per body part and keep reps in the 4-10 range.
Example.
Mon and thurs
Bench 3X4-10
Inclines 2X4-10
Military presses 3X4-10
Laterals 2X8-12
Lying ext and over head ext for 2X8-12 each

Tues and Friday
Bent rows 3X4-10
Pull UPS 2X6-10
Ez or BB curls and hammer db curls 2X6-10 each
Squats 3X4-10
Side bends and crunches with wts for 2x15-25 each

After you reach a sticking point on this program I would tell you to check out "max-ot" and after that try DC or a Yates style HIT routine.

I'm a big believer in HIT for experienced trainees.
Peace

dunhill225

dunhill225

Awards
For exercise variations.... Sure.... A ton of exs BUT for routines? Don't read that book! Horrible.

owlicks

owlicks

Awards
For exercise variations.... Sure.... A ton of exs BUT for routines? Don't read that book! Horrible.
Well I was mostly recommending the book as a reference, and that's what I've used it for, but it does recommend routines for beginners as well, which will be more helpful than what you listed. Two day split for a beginner? Weighted side bends? Apparently in your routine people need bulky obliques and no calves.

If I was recommending any kind of routine for a beginner, I'd look to Martin Berkhan and leangains.com for inspiration. This routine that he cited a reader using in his latest article would be a great place to start:

Day 1 (Monday)

5-min walk for warm-up.
Deadlift 2-3 sets of 4-5 reps reverse pyramid style.
Rest 5-10 mins.
Leg extensions - Same setup as deadlifts, but reps a bit higher (6-8).
Rest 5-10 mins.
Chins - Same as deads.

Day 3 (Wednesday)