Bench Press Questions

gymrat500

gymrat500

Awards
I have been lifting on and off for the past 13 years. I am curious as to what everyone considers a good bench press amount... Is it 315lbs? 365lbs? 405lbs? more?? Just curious really. I also want to see where I stack up to the standards...
I have been told by several ppl that I am big, but I feel that it is relative really. I mean, I might be bigger than some local guys, but if you go to the Arnold Classic, I would be small... Just trying to put things into perspective with all of use meatheads on here. Any input??

MakaveliThaDon

Awards
  • Established
depends on your body weight of course

BigRigg

BigRigg

Awards
i weigh 190 and my max was 335x3 about 2-3 months ago, im not that big, and i dont think im that strong either but thats where im at, im 19 and been lifting for maybe 2 years, 1 year seriously

Resolve

Resolve

The BPS Rep
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I'm more impressed when someone demonstrates good form than when they load up a lot of weight. A good bench press number is something you could go to a meet with and rank well.

Gutterpump

Gutterpump

Banned
Awards
  • Established
i weigh 190 and my max was 335x3 about 2-3 months ago, im not that big, and i dont think im that strong either but thats where im at, im 19 and been lifting for maybe 2 years, 1 year seriously
If you've truly only been training that long, that's a pretty impressive number. Which training programs have you done or been following?

borobulker

borobulker

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Such an open ended question, but people love to see 3 plates, 4 plates, etc. on each side... But I would agree with demonstrating pure strength as owning whatever weight you are able to do - good form, convincing press.

Keep smashing weight!

Future

The best that you can do. I don't look down on someone that is weaker than I am. I am impressed by effort and drive. Just do your thing man.

gymrat500

gymrat500

Awards