should I really continue to run when trying to gain muscle mass? - AnabolicMinds.com

should I really continue to run when trying to gain muscle mass?

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'9"  170 lbs.

should I really continue to run when trying to gain muscle mass?

Hello,
    So I've been running and lifting weights for about 8 months now. Initially, my primary (and perhaps lone) goal was to lose the innertube that I carried around my belly. I've made much progress on this goal, going from about 5'9", 195 pds to about 170 pounds. While I'm delighted with my strides, I have increased my lifting regime and want more results with muscles. I still have some gut to lose, so continue running probably about 3-4 times a week, reducing it only to about 2-3 miles etch run. Anyhow, I fear that my running has stymied my muscle production, although I've read several conflicting views to this stance. Any suggestions? I want to improve muscles mass, I lift etch muscle group for about an hour 1 time a week, so I'm putting in the effort, but haven't seen the muscle production I desire.

2. Advanced Member

Your best shot to continue running and preserve muscle is to do HIIT. Google it for lots of great advice. It stands for High Intensity Interval Training which means you alternate very high intensity cardio bursts with low intensity breaks.

You can do this for shorter durations than your steady state cardio while losing fat and protecting against muscle atrophy.
  3. The Female Terminator
    Stats
    5'1"  122 lbs.

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation

Quote Originally Posted by tarheel10 View Post
    Hello,