Should I start at beginner style training?

JoeShtMarine

Awards
I have been lifting for about 4 months, I kind of started like a dumba$$ because I was new to weightliifting and I started with a 4 day split. I have been doing some reading on gaining strength and muscle mass and I came across a 12 week: 4 Phase workout plan by Dr. Jim Stoppani. My question is, is it ok to start back at the whole body training and work my way back up to 4 or 5 day splits, or will it be best to keep training the way i am now? I dont want to decrease my strength and size gains, I just want to make sure that I am starting out right. Thanks for your help.

JoeShtMarine

Awards
Just so I am clear, I am still doing a 4 day split: Chest/Tri, Biceps, Legs/Shoulders, Back.

nemo

nemo

Awards
  • Established
I believe it's always best to start at the beginning, such as whole body workouts. When you jump right into an advanced routine you're only shortchanging yourself. What I mean to say is your body will recover better on a beginner routine, then move up to an intermediate routine, then advanced. Some people stay with whole body workouts for any length of time because they find it effective. Best to cover all your bases, and then at least you're progressing correctly.

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
i would start out on 5x5. but 4 months is not a long time really

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established