My Bench Max Came to a Pause...Help!

2 Real

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Okay, so i've been benching for 8 months now....the numbers where going thru the roof....but now i hit 210, and it stopped! On good days, i can bench 210 6 times...but other days, i struggle to hit 4, even 2 reps. Im 200lbs...and im a pretty solid guy. I tried taking off a week or 2, but it didnt help. I can bench 190, 10 times, but for some reason, that 210 gives me trouble. What can I do to break the 210 barrier and keeop moving up?

2 Real

Banned
Awards
  • Established
10 days ago, i benched 200, 8 times, and today, i couldnt do 3 reps of 210.

waynaferd

waynaferd

Awards
  • Established
That happens to me alot, too, but I just try to eat and rest a bit more, change up the routine a bit, then try again.

Like now I do a push/pull/legs, and do bench after military press. Whichever one I wanna improve on more I do first, so right now my bench is down, since I wanna gain more shoulder mass.

So I'll do some declines for a month or so, then my flat will end up even lower, but once I do it a few times I'll be up 5-10 pounds and more reps than I was say a month and a half ago, before I stalled out.

Another thing I noticed, is say I'm stuck on bench, but the smaller lifts (flyes, dips, tri ext.) go up, soon enough the bench will follow. As long as something increases each workout, I'm a happy camper.

Second thought:

Since you say 8 months, have you been doing the same routine for the 8 mos? Changing that will probably be your answer.

carnivalhobo

Awards
Perfect your form, Improve triceps strength, improve upper back strength

rest, eat.

SRS2000

Awards
  • Established