First post. Looking for input on 5x5 routine.

1. New Member
    Stats
    6'0"  206 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    4.17%

First post. Looking for input on 5x5 routine.

I've been lurking for a couple months, so I figured it was time to register. I've been training on and off for the last 13 years or so, but I've been getting more and more serious about building some serious muscle in the last 6 months or so. Just started my first "real" bulking cycle, and I'm going to try a 2 week bulking 2 week cutting pattern with the goal of bulking while keeping fat gain down. I've gained 10 lbs in 11 days on a steady diet of chicken, eggs, milk, wheat bread, natty pb and protein powder (I think much of the weight is fluid, as before I started I had been cutting for about 6 months, but some of it is definitely muscle), although gaining weight has NEVER been an issue.

Sorry, rambling.

I've been doing bodypart splits with high volume and a combo of mid-heavy weights, but the DOMS are killing me. My legs are sore for upwards of 5 or 6 days. I also wanted a program that worked on a 7 day weekly split instead of the 6 day split I've been running, to help me stick to my 2 week bulk, 2 week cut cycle. I also wanted a focus on compound movements that would hit ceartain bodyparts twice a week. This is what I came up with;

edit; the numbers listed below are the possible days on which I can do each workout. This is there for flexability since my schedule shifts around a lot. Each workout will only be done once a week, which means 4 days training and 3 resting.

Sat- #1
    Sun- #1 or #2
    Mon- #2
    Tues- #2 or #3
    Wed-#3
    Thurs-#3 or #4
    Fri-#4

Squats 5x5
    Deadlifts 5x5
    Pullups 5x failure

Bench press 5x5
    Dips 5x just short of failure
    Close grip bench 3x8-12
    Calf raises 5x5

Cleans 5x5
    Bent over rows 5x5
    Chins 5x just short of failure
    Barbell curls 3-5x5-12

Overhead press 5x5
    Upright rows 5x5
    Skull crushers 3x8-12